Topic: technique

how important is it the learn the guitar  ' properly ' would you encourage a student
to play positionally or use his fingers willy nilly ie  'f*** the pinky i can reach with this finger '
imo this attitude stinks and any teacher endorsing this should be struck off

Thumbs up Thumbs down

Re: technique

Is there really a properly......Or is it whats best for you??????

Imagine if the words of Imagine ever came true.....

Thumbs up Thumbs down

in my opinion there is a ' properly '...there is always a proper way to do anything
any guitarist thats had lessons from a quality teacher with always use his pinky
especially if its from the word go..most self taught guitarist dont use their pinky
cause its ten times easier using their 3rd..so the bad habit develops
...you wont type 500 words a minute on a typewriter using 2 fingers ( old adage )

Thumbs up Thumbs down

OK but I am self tought and use my pinky,,,not much and if Idon't have to I won't.

Its the demon finger default/big_smile  default/big_smile  default/big_smile

Thumbs up Thumbs down

I think proper technique is really important.

I made the pinky mistake way back and it took years trying to correct when I realised I really did need it!

There are loads of other bad habits that are easy to get trapped into - a guitar teacher should identify these and encourage good technique from the start!

simple exercise..put your first finger at the 5th position on the E string ( A )..then play
A C B A# continuously as fast as you can without your pinky..then with your pinky ( keep your first finger on the 5th fret )
then do the same again but playing C# instead of C

Thumbs up Thumbs down

jamesd74 wrote:

OK but I am self tought and use my pinky,,,not much and if Idon't have to I won't

what does 'if i dont have to' mean??

is it deformed/broken/an embarrassment/ a funny colour/ or what????
your pinky is part of the team....dont be so cruel...get it involved..you know it makes sense