Topic: Bad Habits

When I was learning the guitar I developed two bad habits which took me a long time to break.

One was the fact I never used my pinky (little finger) to fret any notes. This meant that whilst my other fingers were building in strength the pinky was getting weaker.

This turned out to be a major problem when I started learning Satriani numbers as you *have* to use all four fingers.

The other was that I did not always use alternate picking so I had to relearn this.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this?

Re: Bad Habits

i never strted off with a picm, i used my fingers...biggest mistake,,tho if u playin claassical guitar u use fingers
then alternate picking is yes a must, but i use both of the alternate and wrong pickin together, helps to build speeed,, but a beginner must always go with alternate first

Thumbs up Thumbs down

my bad habbits?
it's stranged... i like soloing very much till i don't focus on chording.
i can play some quite fast solos, flamenco and classical but when comes to changing few chords rapidly as deep purple's songs... i can't give the clean sound...
default/lol

Thumbs up Thumbs down

i did have the same bad habits i don't use my pinky often and try to imitate those solo using the strong fingers but when i did see some sweeps and solos of john P, and vai, yeah the satch of course i did have hard time. took a while to re learn things.

Thumbs up Thumbs down

yes we often forget to put much emphasis on our little fingers. which is by the way the hardest to train among all the fingers. cause they are relaly weak in the first place. and we shoudl really put more time to practice them though we don't really often get to use them as much as the other fingers though.

Thumbs up Thumbs down

My first bad habbit was picking only in the same direction... I mean... it was so hard to learn basics things like alternate picking...